Arriving in Newcastle

Before my departure from London Gatwick to Newcastle, Sam and I met up again with Alex and went out for the traditional English breakfast which is protein heavy, consisting of British bacon, sausage, and eggs, and the sides vary, but the options are usually fried tomatoes, mushrooms, baked beans, and toast, along with a cup of tea. After our extremely filling breakfast, we parted ways with Alex and went to King’s Cross to find our train.

Image

Before coming to the UK, I had previously read about the 16-25 railcard which is a card that you can buy if you’re between 16-25, or a ‘mature student,’ and it will save you 1/3 on all train fares within the UK. It costs £30 for the year, but it pays for itself quite quickly. A train fare just from King’s Cross to Gatwick is £10, and yet, I only had to pay £6 once I got the card, so after a few trips to London or Edinburgh, it’ll pay for itself. If you’re going to get one, come with a passport photo ready. I luckily had an extra with me from my visa application, but Sam didn’t have one so he couldn’t get one yet.

We arrived at Gatwick, and our flight was with the budget airline, Flybe. I knew that we would have to check our bags for this type of flight, but when I tried to book it online, it didn’t work. I talked to the help desk at the airport and found out that it does that sometimes if you’re trying to book it from the U.S. However, It costs £14 to book it online, and £40 if you do it at the airport. That’s a HUGE difference… so when I found out, I went off to the side and figured out how to do it from my phone then booked it right there, checked it and got away with it. Make sure you don’t fall for their tricks and let them get all of your money! It goes fast in Europe…

Image

We finally boarded our flight, and basically, you lift off, hang out in the sky for a few minutes and then start descending again… incredibly short flight, so I recommend taking the scenic view from the train instead. As we were landing, I started talking with the lady next to me, Colleen, who happened to be from Newcastle and was returning home. She was fascinated that I was from America and came to Newcastle to study for a year. We talked until exiting baggage claim and she introduced Sam and I to her husband, John. We exchanged phone numbers and she invited us over for tea sometime, which I was incredibly thrilled about because it seemed like such a traditional English invitation. Later on, I found out that she has never just given out her number like that but she must have seen the good in me, which I am thankful for… and you’ll find out why later.

Image

We met up with our uni’s meet and greet students and took a taxi to our accommodation. The girl who was in my flat before had just moved out the previous weekend and apparently took her room key with her so when they gave me a key, it only worked for the building and the actual flat, leaving my room unlocked. I was a little nervous about that at first because of my camera gear, computer, etc… but luckily, there were only three rooms in my flat and only one other girl had already moved in.

I put my stuff in my room, and then went with Sam, his friend Emmy, and her mom to a place called ASDA which is like the UK’s Walmart. Emmy studied in Atlanta the previous year and knew what it was like to come to a brand new place with nothing so she and her mother so generously took us to shop for all of the basic necessities as soon as we arrived.

After shopping, we took our new things back to our flats then began to search for Grey’s Monument, which is in the center of Newcastle, and a great meeting place. I met a girl named Gabi in Iceland, who was on her way to Prague for the same TEFL program that I want to do when I graduate, and she was taking a European adventure along the way with one more night in Newcastle. We met her at the monument, then went to an Indian restaurant for some amazing Indian food. After, we checked out a bar called ‘PleasedToMeetYou’ which I enjoyed because it didn’t give off the insane Newcastle party vibe that I had heard about. It was a rather relaxed bar with interesting people and quality drinks. After drinks, we parted ways with Gabi, then Sam and I decided that we were really going to enjoy this town. Our flats are in the center of town, with only a short walk to anything we need. The city has gorgeous architecture and the people are friendly. We were off to a good start for our year in the UK.

ImageImage

This post was rushed, as I am trying to catch up. I’ve fallen behind since settling in Newcastle, and especially now that I’ve started classes. More to come soon!! Thanks for reading!

Forever wandering and wondering,

Brianna Leilani

Leave a comment