Tynemouth with my adopted Newcastle family

So it has been far too long since I have last updated, but since arriving in Newcastle, I have been incredibly distracted… and that’s a good thing! I’ve been having the time of my life and enjoying every bit of living here. I’ve also been ill for almost three weeks, however, that has not stopped me from having fun. 🙂

I’ve made many friends and I’ve had many new experiences which I shall mention later, but for now, I want to put up this very much delayed post from my first weekend in Newcastle along with a brief story.

The pictures that you are about to look at are from my first Sunday in Newcastle with Sam and two absolutely wonderful people who have shown us so much kindness, Colleen and John. I met Colleen on the flight from London Gatwick to Newcastle. She sat beside me and just before landing, we started to talk. She is from Newcastle and was fascinated that I was coming from America to study here for a year. We both must have seen the good in one another because after talking the whole way to baggage claim, we exchanged phone numbers and she invited me to tea. Being the idealist that I am, I was so excited about being invited to tea because it seemed like such a traditional British thing to do. Sorry for the stereotype, but I mean it in the best possible way.

I introduced her to Sam and she introduced us to her husband. They offered us a ride to the university from the airport but we already had prior arrangements so we politely declined. After getting settled into Newcastle, I sent Colleen a text message telling her I was loving it here and would love to get together sometime. We made arrangements and the next day, she and John picked up Sam and I to take us to Tynemouth on the seaside. We chatted along the way and absolutely adored them.

They took us to a cute pub on the coast situated next to a castle, called the Gibraltar. Since it was Sunday, we all opted for the traditional English roast, called a carvery. It’s as much food as one would have on Thanksgiving, but the lucky English get to have it every week.

After a very satisfying meal, we walked along the coast, visited a monument, and we were then lucky enough to see the royal air show which is only put on about 8 times a year. We walked through town a bit, then as the rain came in, they took us back home to Newcastle. I told them that I would adopt them as my Newcastle parents and being the first people that I had met in Newcastle,  I already knew that I would love it here. 🙂

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Forever wandering and wondering,

Brianna Leilani

Leave a comment